Program

Phenomenology: From Critique to Method
An International Conference

October 9-11, 2020

University of Jyväskylä and Kent State University

Schedule

DAY 1 

Friday, October 9, 2020 

Begin: 8:15am EST/ 7:15am CST/ 3:15pm Finland(F)/ 2:15pm Germany(G) 

Sara Heinämaa (University of Jyväskylä) and Andreea Smaranda Aldea (Kent State University): Opening Words 

PANEL 1 (Moderators Sara Heinämaa and Smaranda Aldea) 

8:30am EST/ 7:30am CST/ 3:30pm F/ 2:30pm G 

David Carr (Emory University/New School for Social Research): “Methodological and critical themes in phenomenology” 

9:30am EST/8:30am CST/4:30pm F/3:30pm G  

Lanei Rodemeyer (Duquesne University): “A Phenomenological critique of critical phenomenology” 

10:30am EST/9:30am CST/ 5:30pm F/ 4:30pm G 30-minute Questions & Answers(General Audience) 

11:00am EST/ 10:00am CST/ 6:00pm F/ 5:00pm G 30-minute break 

PANEL 2 (Moderator Mirja Hartimo) 

11:30am EST/ 10:30am CST/ 6:30pm F/ 5:30pm G 

Julia Jansen (KU Leuven): “Being critical of what?” 

12:30pm EST/ 11:30am CST/ 7:30pm F/ 6:30pm G  

Andreea Smaranda Aldea (Kent State University): “Husserlian phenomenology as radical immanent critique – Or how phenomenology imagines itself” 

1:30pm EST/ 12:30pm CST/ 8:30pm F/ 7:30pm G 30-minute Questions & Answers(General Audience) 

Ending the First Day at 2:00pm EST/ 1:00pm CST/ 9:00pm F/ 8:00pm G 

DAY 2

Saturday, October 10, 2020 

Begin: 9am EST/ 8am CST/ 4pm F/ 3pm G 

PANEL 1 (Moderator Anthony Fernandez) 

9:00am EST/ 8:00am CST/ 4:00pm F/ 3:00pm G 

Michela Summa (University of Würzburg): “Exemplarity in Kant’s and Husserl’s critical epistemology and theory of experience” 

10:00am EST/ 9:00am CST/ 5:00pm F/ 4:00pm G 

Sara Heinämaa (University of Jyväskylä): “The case of the living body (Leib): On the transcendental undercurrents of phenomenology” 

11:00am EST/ 10:00am CST/ 6:00pm F/ 5:00pm G 30-minute Questions & Answers (General Audience) 

11:30am EST/ 10:30am CST/ 6:30pm F/ 5:30pm G 30-minute break 

PANEL 2 (Moderator Fredrik Westerlund) 

12:00pm EST/ 11:am CST/ 7:00pm F/ 6:00pm G 

Natalie Depraz (University of Rouen): “Critical phenomenology and micro-phenomenology: Independent paths, crucial meetings around the first-person experience of collective issues” 

1:00pm EST/ 12:00pm CST/ 8:00pm F/ 7:00pm G 

Nicolas de Warren (Penn State University), “La bêtise n’est pas mon fort – Stupidity in the impossibility of critique” 

2:00pm EST/ 1:00pm CST/ 9:00pm F/ 8:00pm G 30-minute Questions & Answers (General Audience) 

Ending the Second Day at 2:30pm EST/ 1:30pm CST/ 9:30pm F/ 8:30pm G 

DAY 3

Sunday, October 11, 2020 

Begin: 8am EST/ 7am CST/ 3pm F/ 2pm G 

PANEL 1 (Moderator James Jardine) 

8:00am EST/ 7:00am CST/ 3:00pm F/ 2:00pm G 

Alice Pugliese (University of Palermo): “Social critique and trust dynamics” 

9:00am EST/ 8:00am CST/ 4:00pm F/ 3:00pm G 

Anthony Steinbock (SUNY Stony Brook): “Critique as thinking-freely and as discernment of the heart” 

10:00am EST/ 9:00am CST/ 5:00pm F/ 4:00pm G 30-minute Questions & Answers (General Audience) 

10:30am EST/ 9:30am CST/ 5:30pm F/ 4:30pm G 30-minute break 

PANEL 2 (Moderators Ilpo Hirvonen and Smaranda Aldea) 

11:00am EST/ 10:00am CST/ 6:00pm F/ 5:00pm G 

Maren Wehrle (University of Rotterdam): “The power of reduction and the reduction of power: Husserl’s and Foucault’s critical project” 

12:00pm EST/ 11:00am CST/ 7:00pm F/ 6:00pm G 

James Dodd (New School for Social Research): “Patočka and the metaphysics of sacrifice” 

1:00pm EST/ 12:00pm CST/ 8:00pm F/ 7:00pm G 30-minute Questions & Answers (General Audience) 

1:30pm EST/ 12:30pm CST/ 8:30pm F/7:30pm G Closing Remarks 

Ending of the Third Day at 2:00pm EST/ 1:00pm CST /9:00pm F /8:00pm G